“Mom Minus 1” The Book

kj book coverWhen Kayla died, I looked everywhere for another mom who had been through the devastating loss of a child to cancer.  At the time, I didn’t know that it would be a difficult search.  I found some news articles here and there.  But, I couldn’t find a way to contact the mothers.  I wanted and needed to find one mother who understood.  I tried to find books written by mothers who had lost a child to cancer.  I looked at the library, book stores, etc.  But, I just couldn’t find one.  My heart was screaming, “Where and who is she?  I desperately need to find her.  She is the only one who will get it.  She will understand.”  It was not long after I started this blog when I became surprisingly blessed by something very special to me; a bond and a connection with many mothers who were just like me.  Each one had experienced the heartbreaking loss of a child to cancer.  I hated the fact that there were so many children who suffered and died due to this cruel illness.  But, the connection with their mothers was an absolute blessing.  It was the bond created with these incredible women that encouraged me to put my blog into a book.  I know there are many that would rather hold a book in their hands rather than looking at a computer screen.  I recently self-published a book which includes a compilation of selected blog posts.  The book is available here http://www.thebookpatch.com/BookStore/%22mom-minus-1%22-a-mothers-journey-through-life-after-losing-her-daughter-to-cancer/28c50c6f-ad2f-47fe-9aff-b0cbf715d9f5?isbn=9781620308899  It is, also, available on Amazon.  However, it looks like The Book Patch is the best site to place an order.  Also, and “coming soon,” is another book I am writing which will be about Kayla’s 81 day journey with cancer……I do not want another mom who loses her son or daughter to cancer to feel completely alone.  If what I’ve written only helps with healing one mother’s broken heart, I will know that I’ve fulfilled exactly what I was supposed to do after losing Kayla.

About MomMinus1

Welcome to my blog, momminus1 (mom minus one). I am a mother of three beautiful girls, Kayla 17, Allison 13 and Ashley 5. One of my daughters recently became an angel; Kayla passed away on September 22, 2010 due to complications from AML leukemia. She was diagnosed on July 3, 2010. She endured harsh chemotherapy treatments, hair loss, rare and painful skin disorders, horrible stomach infections, weakness, loss of appetite, depression, anxiety and fear. From the time she was diagnosed until the day she died it was just 81 days..... A short, but, horrific battle with cancer. I am always asked, "How are you doing? What can I do for you? How are your two girls doing?" At times, these are tough questions to answer. And, I express myself best when I write. Writing is so helpful and therapeutic for me. Maybe I can answer these questions for those that are concerned about us. Maybe I can help another mom that might wake up tomorrow and find out that their child is diagnosed with cancer. Maybe there is a mom somewhere, like me, that just lost a child to cancer and is searching the web for answers. She might be thinking, "Is there anyone out there that understands what I'm going through?" I understand. I am grieving. I am in pain. I have a big piece of my heart that is now gone.....I would love your feedback about my blog, too. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in mother's life after child dies from cancer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

