Online Support Group Update

kayla green shirtHi everyone!  There was a great response to the poll posted on my blog, “Would you be interested in participating in an online support group specifically for mother’s who have lost a child to cancer?”  While researching how to start an online support group, I found that we can do a lot on Google plus.  We can schedule a group chat, start a discussion board, share our children’s stories, pics and more.  However, it looks like you would have to have a Google plus account to participate in this community; the Google plus account is FREE.  I named the community “Mom Minus 1,” which is the name of my blog and because that is what all of us have unfortunately become.  If you have other suggestions for a group name, please send in your ideas.  This is about all of the incredible women who had to watch their child suffer and then, finally, let them go forever; you encourage me to continue writing.  And, I really hope we can make this online support group work.  Please send in ideas If you know of other ways to create an online support group.  I am so excited about the opportunity for all of us to be able to support each other through sharing our grief, pain, thoughts and feelings.  I’m looking forward to hearing from you soon 🙂

Once on Google, search “communities.”  Type in “Mom Minus 1” community group.  If you have any problems finding it, please let me know.  Thank you 🙂

https://plus.google.com/communities

About MomMinus1

Welcome to my blog, momminus1 (mom minus one). I am a mother of three beautiful girls, Kayla 17, Allison 13 and Ashley 5. One of my daughters recently became an angel; Kayla passed away on September 22, 2010 due to complications from AML leukemia. She was diagnosed on July 3, 2010. She endured harsh chemotherapy treatments, hair loss, rare and painful skin disorders, horrible stomach infections, weakness, loss of appetite, depression, anxiety and fear. From the time she was diagnosed until the day she died it was just 81 days..... A short, but, horrific battle with cancer. I am always asked, "How are you doing? What can I do for you? How are your two girls doing?" At times, these are tough questions to answer. And, I express myself best when I write. Writing is so helpful and therapeutic for me. Maybe I can answer these questions for those that are concerned about us. Maybe I can help another mom that might wake up tomorrow and find out that their child is diagnosed with cancer. Maybe there is a mom somewhere, like me, that just lost a child to cancer and is searching the web for answers. She might be thinking, "Is there anyone out there that understands what I'm going through?" I understand. I am grieving. I am in pain. I have a big piece of my heart that is now gone.....I would love your feedback about my blog, too. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in mother's life after child dies from cancer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Online Support Group Update

  1. Tracey Warren says:

    Hi amber, so glad you have set this up. I have already joined and look forward to many more mums joining too. Thank you for doing this. We all need a place we can vent, share stories and photos with other mms who understand the journey we were forced to take. I really hope this takes off and we form a community based on love, compassion and understanding xxoo

    • MomMinus1 says:

      Hi Tracey! I’m so glad you are joining in. I have a lot of faith that it will work with wonderful mother’s like you. I think we can learn so much from each other. We can have a place where we don’t feel alone. I’ll keep you posted on the progress of the support group 🙂

  2. mary mckenna says:

    what are you supposed to say when asked if you have any children? I lost my only child 4 years ago and when asked now do you have any children, if you say yes then you get in a situation were you end up explaining you ve lost a child. if you say you have none it feels your denying your child exised.

    • MomMinus1 says:

      Mary….I have struggled with this very same question myself. This is something that no mother is prepared for when losing a child. If I am ever asked, I usually respond that I have three children….because I really do. And, you will always be the mother of your child; that will never…ever…change. If you haven’t joined the online support group for mother’s who have lost a child to cancer, I would like to invite you to join. We are just getting it going and I have met some wonderful mothers that understand what we are going through. I am looking forward to getting to know you and learn about your daughter….Here is the link to the support group: https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups#!forum/momsmissingpeace
      Here is the link to the Mom’s Missing Peace support group BLOG:
      http://momsmissingpeace.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

