Breaking News: 12 Children Tragically Die Today

Breaking News:  12  Children Tragically Die Today.”

Twelve children died tragically today.  Their ages ranged from 1 to 17-years-old.  Remarkably, each child was in a different part of the world when the tragedy occurred.  The children were each held hostage by a horrendous and vindictive beast before facing their death.  Some were held captive and tortured for a few years.  And, some were tormented for as little as a few months.  However, the ending result was the same.  The young and innocent victims and their families were completely caught off guard when the beast made it’s surprise, deceptive and malicious attack.  A distraught and heartbroken mother of a 17-year-old daughter, which was one of the 12 children that died, was asked by a reporter to tell other’s about her child; “My daughter was beautiful inside and out.  She was approaching her senior year in high school and could not wait to turn 18.  She was looking forward to the future and becoming whatever she wanted to be.  And, I know she could have done anything she wanted to do with her life and excelled at it.  I am devastated beyond belief and I don’t understand why this happened to my daughter and the other children.  I would do anything to have her back.”  The reporter asked the mother how the perpetrator should be punished for killing her daughter and the 11 other children.  “It is impossible to capture and lock this beast up in jail and throw away the key.  Capital punishment is not even an option.  My solution would be to get to the bottom of what has caused this devastation and destruction to our children and stop it before it ever happens again.”  At this time, the suspect is still on the run and has gone into hiding.  Witnesses describe the suspect as deceptive, atrocious, and remorseless.  The beast goes by the name of, “Cancer.”

What if we opened the newspaper today and the headlines read, “Breaking News:  12 Children Tragically Die Today.”  I believe that most people would be in shock.  All of the news stations would be reporting the tragedy over and over again.  Co-workers, classmates, and acquaintances would be discussing this horrific story and wondering why it happened.  Mother’s would panic and hold their children tightly due to fear of the same thing happening to their sons or daughters.  Unfortunately, this tragedy occurs every day somewhere in the world.  You probably will not hear about it unless you personally know the child and their family.  Or, you might hear about it from a friend of a friend.  But, this type of horrifying announcement is never in a headline for any type of newspaper or news media unless it was to happen by a serial killer, a mass shooting or a catastrophic accident.  The unfortunate truth is that 12 children die every day from cancer……Yes.  I did say, “12 children die every day from cancer.”  And, yet, we are so fixated on and fascinated with celebrity worship, sports and politics.  It is simply too painful to comprehend the thought of a child dying from cancer.  It is so heart wrenching that no one wants to think to themselves, “What if my child was diagnosed with cancer and did not survive?”  So, it is easier to pretend that it is not really happening.  I know I have been guilty of changing the channel every time I would see a commercial for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital.  I could not bare to look at a child that was so sick, frail, and had no hair.  These commercials just hurt too much to watch.  I have no idea if there will ever be a cure for cancer.  However, is it possible to stop what is causing it?  Is it in the chicken nuggets from McDonald’s?  Is it from the tap water out of our kitchen sink?  Is it in the vaccinations given to our kids beginning just moments after they are born?  I don’t know how cancer begins its’ destruction; I can only research, guess and speculate.  It is time for someone to stand up for our children!  How much LOUDER do we need to get?  How many more walk-a-thon’s do we need to complete?  How many more children have to die before this is stopped?  I realize that it is impossible to put our kids in a plastic bubble to protect them from anything potentially harmful or fatal.  I, also, understand that my children could eat all organic foods, avoid all chemical exposure and take daily vitamins and still not be shielded from cancer.  So, how do we stop this beast?  I don’t have any answers.  All I know to do is to pray, tell other’s how childhood cancer is the leading cause of death for kids in ages 1 – 14, pray some more, express my thoughts and concerns and not be afraid of a negative reaction from someone, continue to pray and never stop telling Kayla’s story……..Oprah?  Dr. Phil?  Is anyone famous out there reading this?  When are they going to schedule a show to discuss childhood cancer awareness instead of relationship problems, drug and alcohol addictions or giving away brand new cars?  Recently, singer Taylor Swift listened; she took time out of her crazy schedule and wrote a song about a little boy, Ronan, that lost his battle to cancer.  Thank you, Taylor, for going over and above your sincere acknowledgement and support for Ronan and childhood cancer awareness………….Please pray for the next 12 children that will not survive cancer tomorrow.

About MomMinus1

Welcome to my blog, momminus1 (mom minus one). I am a mother of three beautiful girls, Kayla 17, Allison 13 and Ashley 5. One of my daughters recently became an angel; Kayla passed away on September 22, 2010 due to complications from AML leukemia. She was diagnosed on July 3, 2010. She endured harsh chemotherapy treatments, hair loss, rare and painful skin disorders, horrible stomach infections, weakness, loss of appetite, depression, anxiety and fear. From the time she was diagnosed until the day she died it was just 81 days..... A short, but, horrific battle with cancer. I am always asked, "How are you doing? What can I do for you? How are your two girls doing?" At times, these are tough questions to answer. And, I express myself best when I write. Writing is so helpful and therapeutic for me. Maybe I can answer these questions for those that are concerned about us. Maybe I can help another mom that might wake up tomorrow and find out that their child is diagnosed with cancer. Maybe there is a mom somewhere, like me, that just lost a child to cancer and is searching the web for answers. She might be thinking, "Is there anyone out there that understands what I'm going through?" I understand. I am grieving. I am in pain. I have a big piece of my heart that is now gone.....I would love your feedback about my blog, too. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in mother's life after child dies from cancer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Breaking News: 12 Children Tragically Die Today

  1. What an amazing Post. Disgusting too. My Alexa only being One year old, going to Heaven after battling Cancer, i felt so alone. One year olds really die from Cancer? It’s still so shocking to me. A special prayer for Alexa my angel and Kayla your Angel, watch over these children suffering as you both did, i Know our Angels left for a reason…

  2. Cyndi Amerson says:

    The saddest thing that I have seen in my life time is for young people to die before their time. My heart goes out to you and all of the families that have lost their child from cancer. It is breaking news!
    Love you always!

  3. Debbie Futrell says:

    Dearest Amber – Your words “hit the nail on the head”! Kayla did inspire me to be more aware of children/families that are going through this terrible disease. I appreciate your and your family – and your writiings. Love you!

  4. judy says:

    another wonderful, thoughtful and caring blog. you express your feelings so well. i love you!! how is the book coming along?

  5. Susan B says:

    Another wonderful, thought provoking post Amber. I’ve started the process to vote for you as the best Mommy Blogger!

  6. Judy Ramsdell says:

    I just came across you blogs and want to say how helpful they are. My 19 year old daughter, passed away on August 9, 2012 from angiosarcoma–a rare cancer. She was diagnosed in February, 2011, her senior year of high school. I am heart-broken and traumatized in a way too after seeing how much she went through. I can relate so much to all your posts. Brooke was such a beautiful, brave, kind, courageous girl–just like your daughter. I miss her so much and just wonder how I get through each day. I have a son who is 22 years old. He lives in Florida, and we live in New Hampshire so we miss him too. Thank you.
    Judy Ramsdell (mother of Brooke Ramsdell)

    • MomMinus1 says:

      Judy….I know you are hurting and missing Brooke so much right now. I wish I could tell you that the pain gets better. But, I think in time we simply learn to accept the pain. Our lives have been forever changed after losing our daughters. You and your family will be in my prayers. Please feel free to contact me anytime……I understand your pain.

  7. Katie says:

    I lost my cousin from cancer.:( I feel your pain

Leave a Reply

