About MomMinus1

Welcome to my blog, momminus1 (mom minus one). I am a mother of three beautiful girls, Kayla 17, Allison 13 and Ashley 5. One of my daughters recently became an angel; Kayla passed away on September 22, 2010 due to complications from AML leukemia. She was diagnosed on July 3, 2010. She endured harsh chemotherapy treatments, hair loss, rare and painful skin disorders, horrible stomach infections, weakness, loss of appetite, depression, anxiety and fear. From the time she was diagnosed until the day she died it was just 81 days..... A short, but, horrific battle with cancer. I am always asked, "How are you doing? What can I do for you? How are your two girls doing?" At times, these are tough questions to answer. And, I express myself best when I write. Writing is so helpful and therapeutic for me. Maybe I can answer these questions for those that are concerned about us. Maybe I can help another mom that might wake up tomorrow and find out that their child is diagnosed with cancer. Maybe there is a mom somewhere, like me, that just lost a child to cancer and is searching the web for answers. She might be thinking, "Is there anyone out there that understands what I'm going through?" I understand. I am grieving. I am in pain. I have a big piece of my heart that is now gone.....I would love your feedback about my blog, too. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Genia Taylor "BJ Hansen" says:

    Amber,
    Reading the honesty of your words is so precious. As a mom I have wondered if I would survive if I ever lost either of my children. I think about that question as I read your post and I think I could because you are making it moment by moment.
    You are such a strong woman to post these words. I do hope that your post may help another parent with a broken heart due to the loss of a child.
    I wonder what Kayla is baking in Heaven?
    Keep strong for yourself and your daughters.

  2. judy says:

    hey, im so proud of you!!! this must have been hard for you but i think it will be so helpful to others. maybe you ought to send this blog to ava and jessi’s moms. ill bet they feel the same way. keep up the good work and i love you…judy

  3. CYNDEE MERRITT says:

    HEY AMBER–JUST READ YOUR BLOG–I BOUGHT ME A NEW JACKET AND SKIRT SATURDAY– THE COLOR IS PURPLE— NOW EVERYTIME I WEAR THAT SUIT I WILL SAY A PRAYER FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY AND THINK OF KAYLA–SEE–WHAT YOU WRITE IMPACTS ALL OF US– NOW I KNOW WHAT COLOR BALLOON TO GET– LOVE YOU GIRL—CYNDEE

    • momminus1 says:

      Hey Cyndee!
      I’m so happy that you like my blog! Thank you for your thoughts and prayers, too. I would love to see you the next time i’m in town……..Thanks for remembering Kayla with the color purple, too. 🙂

  4. sybil says:

    Amber ,
    I know that was one of our balloons Charlotte saw, I am sure it made her happy!
    I bet Granny and her are playing Scrabble and drinking hot cocoa, talking about the snow we enjoyed. Keep up the beautiful writing it keeps us all together.
    Love you,
    Aunt Sybil

Leave a Reply

